‘Every player goes through this phase’: Shikhar Dhawan on Sanju Samson not given a chance to play XI


Even after a poor batting performance from Rishabh Pant in T20Is, wicketkeeper batsman Sanju Samson has yet to play a match for the Men in Blue. The substitute captain for the NZ ODI series, Shikhar Dhawan, who has also gone through such a similar phase in the past, has revealed why Sanju Samson is not getting much match time in either format.

Samson has batted brilliantly in the short chances he has had, scoring 179 runs in six T20Is and 248 runs in nine ODIs. Despite this, the wicket-keeper’s batsman is overlooked due to the presence of Rishabh Pant.

See also  As FIFA fever rages, Team India members play foot volley with New Zealand players for 1st T20I

“Almost every player goes through this phase of not being in the playing XI, even though they performed well in the last series. Communication is key, coaches and captain speak to players. Players like Samson then have clarity as to why he is not in the team is chosen.Basically, it’s all about the team’s advantage and because of team combinations,” Dhawan said at the press conference.

See also  IND vs NZ T20I cricket match: will rain spoil the game in Wellington? Check the latest weather forecast

Sanju Samson made his international debut in 2015 and has represented the Men in Blue in 10 ODIs and 16 T20Is to date.

India will play New Zealand in the first of three one-day internationals (ODIs) on Friday (25 November), and both teams should expect a positive start to the series, giving them a significant advantage.

India won the T20I series 1-0 and will aim to repeat that feat in the ODI format as well. New Zealand, on the other hand, will be eager to win the ODI series and restore balance.

See also  Red Bull finalizes Mateschitz succession plan

IND vs NZ XIs likely to play

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Finn Allen, Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson

READ| Team India players meet wheelchair-bound fan, heartwarming video goes viral



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here