From Adani Group to Royal Challengers Sports: List of all Women’s Premier League Franchise Owners | Cricket news


File image of Women’s T20 Challenge

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the names of the winners of the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League on Wednesday. The board raised a total of INR 4669.99 crore from the 5 bidders who won ownership of the franchises. Adani Sportsline made the biggest of all five franchises winning the Ahmedabad team owners for a prize of INR 1289 crore. Next came Indiawin Sports who earned the rights for the Mumbai franchise with a bid of INR 912.99 crore. Among the men’s Indian Premier League franchises, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) were the only ones to have roped in a team.

See also  Suryakumar Yadav Named 2022 ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year | Cricket news

JSW GMR Cricket and Capri Global Holdings earned the rights of the franchise from Delhi and Lucknow with bids of Rs. 810 crores and 757 crore respectively.

List of Women’s Premier League franchise owners:

1. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd: Ahmedabad franchise for Rs. 1289 crores
2. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd: Mumbai franchise for Rs. 912.99 crores
3. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd: Bangalore for Rs. 901crores
4. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd: Delhi for Rs. 810 crores
5.Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd: Lucknow franchise for Rs. 757 crores

See also  Sunil Gavaskar has his say on Virat Kohli's sacking against New Zealand | Cricket news

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah took to Twitter to announce the colossal bids the board received for the first edition of the WIPL. The bids even exceeded the money raised by the BCCI for the inaugural edition of the men’s Indian Premier League in 2008.

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the team bidding of inaugural #WPL broke records set in the inaugural men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we have collected a total of Rs.4669.99 Cr. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead, not just for our female cricketers, but for the entire sporting association. The #WPL would bring needed reforms to women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits every stakeholder.

See also  "Pakistan has always given India a hard time," ex-star on teams' World Cup odds | Cricket news

“The @BCCI has named the league as Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the journey begin…” tweeted Jay Shah.

Featured video of the day

“Athletes all over India have no one to turn to these days”: Bhaichung Bhutia

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here