Meghalaya: 12 MPs, including former CM Mukul Sangma, left Congress to join TMC today


The move comes after Congresswoman Kirti Azad and former JD (U) General Secretary Pawan Varma joined the party led by Mamata Banerjee.

File image of former Meghalaya chief minister Mukul Sangma. FRP

In a massive shake up at the opposition Congress in Meghalaya, 12 of its 17 MPs led by former chief minister Mukul Sangma will join Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress on Thursday, one of the outgoing MPs, HM Shangpliang, said.

See also  Representative Tom Suozzi to run for New York governor

“Twelve out of 17 congressmen in Meghalaya have decided to join the TMC. We will officially join the TMC under the leadership of former CM Mukul Sangma, ”said Shangpliang, MP for Mawsynram in the East Khasi Hills district.

The development is a major boost for West Bengal chief minister and TMC chief Mamata Banerjee, who has tried to expand his party’s footprint beyond his state.

See also  Global Covid-19 death toll exceeds five million

The move also came a day after Bihar Congressman Kirti Azad, former Janata Dal (United) General Secretary Pawan Varma and Haryana politician Ashok Tanwar joined his party.

Currently, Mamata Banerjee is in Delhi where she met Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as Subramaniam Swamy of BJP.

With PTI entries

Read all Latest news, Trends News, Cricket News, Bollywood News,
India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here