Ranji Trophy: Bengal Sacks Odisha for 265, Reaches 39/2 on Day 2 | Cricket news


Skipper Subhranshu Senapati made a patient fifty but Ishan Porel and Pritam Chakraborty broke three wickets each when Kolkata dismissed Odisha for 265 in their first innings in a Ranji Trophy Group A match at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Wednesday. Bengal then reached 39 for 2 in 15 overs with Abhimanyu Easwaran (14) and Pritam (7) at the crease pulling stumps. Senapati hit a nine-hit 127-ball 67 to the boundary, but Odisha on the other side continued to lose wickets at regular intervals.

First to go was opener Shantanu Mishra (42), who could only add one run to his overnight score and became Pritam’s first victim.

See also  ICC recommends six-team T20 events for 2028 Olympics, final decision in October | Cricket news

Rakesh Pattnaik was quickly sent off by Ishan in 42nd while G Poddar fell victim to Akash Ghatak as Odisha lost half of their match for 139 for 5.

Senapati added 45 with Rajesh Dhuper (15) before the latter was cleared by Ishan. Prayash Singh and Senapati took them over 200 before the former was back in the hut in 81st.

Eight balls later, Senapati was removed by Pritam as they were 210 for 8.

Lower hitters Pradhan (22), Sunil Roul (24) and Basant Mohanty (15 not out) then made useful contributions to take Odisha over the 250 mark.

See also  Ricky Ponting sets clear IPL 2023 expectations for Rishabh Pant | Cricket news

Both Rohtak and Nadaun had play interrupted on the second day due to poor lighting with no ball being bowled.

Short Score: In Kolkata: Odisha 265 all out in 98 overs (Subhranshu Senapati 67, Shantanu Mishra 41; Ishan Porel 3/67, Pritam Chakraborty 3/59) vs Bengal 39 for 2 in 15 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 14; Sunil Roul 1/8).

At Rohtak: Haryana 158 for 6 in 53 overs (Kapil Hooda 42, Sumit Kumar 33 at bat, Yuvraj Singh 34; Avneesh Sudha 5/45) vs Uttarakhand.

See also  U19 Women's T20 WC: India to face England in title fight on Sunday | Cricket news

At Nadaun: Himachal Pradesh 15 for no loss in 4.4 overs vs Uttar Pradesh.

At Baroda: Baroda 561 for 6 in 128 overs (Vishnu Solanki 179, Ninad Rathva 143, Atit Sheth 140 not out; Imliwati Lemtur 2/129) vs Nagaland 130 all out in 45.5 overs (Inakato Zhimomi 44; B Bhatt 5 /40) and 19 for 3 in 7 overs (Mungkham Phom 14; Bhargav Bhatt 2/8).

(follow The Singapore Time on Social Platforms.)

Featured video of the day

“Athletes all over India have no one to turn to these days”: Bhaichung Bhutia

Topics mentioned in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here