Watch: Bhangra and Dhol Beats host Indian team in tour game against Leicestershire | Cricket News


The Indian cricket team managed by Rohit Sharma are off to serious business in England as they embark on a campaign to win the Test series against England. The visitors lead 2-1 in the series which had to be halted mid-last year due to an outbreak of COVID-19 in the Indian camp. The rescheduled Test will be played at Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham from July 1. Ahead of the all-important test, the Indians started their tour with a warm-up match against Leicestershire on Thursday.

The start of the warm-up match was quite entertaining as India fly-half Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill entered the pitch to the sound of bhangra dancing and dhol beats. Dancers dressed in traditional Punjabi clothes could be seen dancing as the players made their way to the pitch. Some of the Indian players couldn’t hide their smiles at the situation.

See also  Relive Rafael Nadal's victory at Roland Garros in pictures | TSTIME

Watch: Bhangra to start the Indian day!

Indians defeat first against Leicestershire in the four-day warm-up match. The warm-up will be an opportunity for the Men in Blue to acclimatize to the new condition.

Indian star players Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna have been added to rival Leicestershire County Cricket Club (LCCC). They will play under County captain Sam Evans.

See also  'If he's not on this flight...': Sunil Gavaskar wants Indian star in T20 World Cup squad | Cricket News

“Indian superstars Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna will all team up with the Leicestershire side, led by opening batsman Sam Evans,” the English club said in a statement.

“LCCC, BCCI and the ECB have all agreed to allow the four players from the visiting camp to be part of the Running Foxes squad, in order to allow all members of the traveling group to participate in the match (subject to conditions physical).

See also  India manages to fire South African finisher David Miller in 3rd T20I, leads to Meme Fest on Twitter | Cricket News

“The match will be played with 13 players per side to provide more flexibility and help manage bowling workloads.”


India: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav.

Leicestershire CCC: Sam Evans (Capt), Rehan Ahmed, Sam Bates (wk), Nat Bowley, Will Davis, Joey Evison, Louis Kimber, Abi Sakande, Roman Walker, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna.

Topics discussed in this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here